mama and her baba

and some of the things we do

Silvershine

Leave a comment

photo

I cannot say how proud and excited I am that the Birmingham jazz club which my amazing grandad, Andy Hamilton MBE founded in the mid 80’s, lives on! Silvershine Jazz Club, renamed after his first album (which he recorded at the age of 73!) will continue to open it’s doors to music lovers every Thursday at The Corks Club, just off Bearwood High Street, Birmingham. It’s official relaunch will be taking place on the 20th December, with Soweto Kinch playing alongside grandad’s band The Blue Notes and other guests.

I have so many wonderful memories of seeing my grandad and other great jazz musicians such as David Murray, Art Themen, Peter King, Hal Singer to name but a few, playing there over the years. It would have been such a loss to the Birmingham jazz scene if it had stopped running when grandad passed away earlier this year, but I am so glad that the club is back, as part of my grandad lives on. It goes without saying how much I miss him.

You can hear his song Silvershine in my kinda tunes.

Author: mama and baba

first time mama and wife living in South LDN.

Leave a Reply

